Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
the blog of cheerful
21 janvier 2007

Idioms!

Be a piece of cake 

images_32_Meaning:
To be very easy
If something is a piece of cake, it is very easy to do.
Example:
A: How was the driving test yesterday? Did you pass?
B: Of course! It was a piece of cake.

Be broke 

images_13_
Meaning:
Without money

If you are broke, you don't have money.


Example:
"Do you want to go to the movies tonight?" "I can't go. I'm broke. Tomorrow is payday."

At the eleventh hour:

Meaning:images_23_

at the last minute; almost too late.

"Yes, I got the work done in time. I finished it at the eleventh hour, but I wasn't late.

Bad-moutimages_41_h:

Meaning:

say unkind, unflattering, embarrassing (and probably untrue) things about someone.

A: "I don't believe what Bob said. Why is he bad-mouthing me?"
B: "He's probably jealous of your success."

Be all ears: 

images_52_

Meaning:

be eager to hear what someone has to say.

A: "I just got an e-mail message from our old friend Sally."
B: "Tell me what she said.
I'm all ears!"

Be fed up with (with someone or something):

images_78_

Meaning:

be out of patience (with someone or something);
be very tired of someone or something.

"Bill, you're too careless with your work. I'm fed up with
apologizing for your mistakes!"

Be in and out:

images_87_

Meaning:

be at and away from a place during a particular time.

"Could we postpone our meeting until tomorrow? I expect to
be in and out of the office most of the day today."

Catch one's eye:

Meaning:872872_catch_1_

attract one's attention/interest.

"This brochure about

Tahiti

caught my eye when I was at the travel agency."

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
the blog of cheerful
Publicité
Publicité